Marathon Training · Running · Strength Training · Yoga

Week 10: The road to Brighton

With 6 weeks to go this is all beginning to feel a bit real! I completed my 2nd longest run of 17 miles this weekend, and have 2 more long runs to go (18 miles and 20 miles) before the real thing.  It amazes me that when I was training for a half marathon, even running 10 miles felt a real struggle, but now that’s the run I come back to on the ‘easy’ weeks.

I haven’t been able to run as much as I would have liked to this week but fitted in a decent 10.5k threshold run on Tuesday and a steady 6k in the sunshine on Friday.  I was glad to have got that in to have warmed up my legs before the long run.

With it being Mother’s Day today I managed to do my long run on the Saturday and actually was glad knowing that I wasn’t jumping straight into the working week the next day.  The long run went ok, it felt a bit harder than the last one but that may be in some part down to the Strength class I did that morning, or because the weather wasn’t very nice (sunshine and too warm, then heavy rain and wind, then nice again before getting bitterly cold and then hailing just before the end)!  However I managed to keep to the same pace as the 15 miler so I am pleased with that (or at least I know I should be).  I also keep forgetting to take photos for Instagram and the blog 🙊must try harder …

Afterwards I was hobbling around and completely exhausted, and I do have a couple of sore points including under my heal, but today I actually don’t feel too bad.  My legs feel good (apart from the sore bits), I got plenty of sleep and fuelled and refuelled well yesterday.

My first attempt at protein pancakes – tasted pretty good!

I have a sports massage booked in for next week – looking forward to that!

I’m glad to have made it to 3 yoga classes this week – I had started to miss these and do feel like I am starting to notice the impact yoga is having on my running (and my sanity!).

  • Long & Luscious at Yoga Quota – longer stretches, in all I think we did 6 or 7 poses in the 1 hour class.  Whilst I did enjoy the class it’s not one I can make most of the time and I actually prefer the Yin Yoga class at Yoga Venue (although it costs a lot more).
  • Candlelit Yoga at Yoga Quota – my favourite class!  The teacher Cassie is fab, she puts together good flows and gives different options and although I never feel pressure to do something I can’t yet do she is very encouraging.  It’s also absolutely fine if you want to spend the whole class in Childs Pose if that’s what you need.  The class is small – 10 of us at most – it’s a compact room but there are no mirrors and the lights are off and a few candles lit.  That works really well for me, I’m not concerned with what anyone else is doing, I can’t really see them and therefore don’t feel conscious that they can see me and so I just get on with it.

 

  • Yin Yoga at Yoga Venue  – Yin Yoga is said to be a good class for runners and cyclists.  For me, today’s class was exactly what I needed.  Most of the class is spent either lying down or sitting and once you are in the pose/stretch it’s held for 5-10 minutes whilst concentrating on your breathing to help you stretch deeper into it.  Today’s class focussed on hips and hip flexor stretches with some hamstring stretches too – perfect after yesterday’s long run.
Must paint my toenails!

Although I am not exactly doing the cross training and strength work that are included in my marathon training plan, I am hopeful that the yoga that I am doing plus my weekly Strength class (SL deadlifts, shoulder press, back squat, split squats this week) are at least benefitting my strength.  Plus I really enjoy them so they have to be good right?!?!

How has your week been?  What do you do to supplement your running?  I’d love to hear from you.

Happy running x

One thought on “Week 10: The road to Brighton

  1. Great to see we have similar training run days and training week.

    I only do one yoga class a week and a couple d soon or rowing sessions.

    My first marathon so have no idea if it’s good bad or indifferent!

    You are doing great. Keep going!

    Like

Leave a comment